Psychic Emperor - Psychic Emperor

Cat #:imp028
Released :2004-12-17
Purchase Digital: iTunes iTunes
Amazon Amazon
Psychic Emperor : Psychic Emperor : Cover

Track Listing:
# Title Length Mp3 Lyrics
01 Solar Mountain Sundown 02:39    
02 I'm So Glad    
03 Thrice Threes Nine 02:20    
04 Headship Afloat    
05 Sever Heavy Hands    
06 Black & White Dale FREE  
07 Baked like Babies    
08 Maud, the Door is Open    
09 Royal Brohams    
10 Held in Spell    
11 Trouble to My Dreams    
12 Sound Machine    
13 Trapdoor Frappycheeno    
14 six six six 06:66    
15 Attitude (Misfits Cover)    
16 Angelfuck (Misfits Cover)    
17 Hybrid Moments (Misfits Cover)    
18 Last Caress (Misfits Cover)    
19 Skulls (Misfits Cover)    
20 Where Eagles Dare    

  • Edition of 1000
  • A collaboration between Tristan Marcum (Vells singer/songwriter) and the production of Plastiq Phantom. Jeremiah Green (Vells, Modest Mouse) played drums. Mary Thinnes (Vells) played keys... James Bertram, Stuart Fletcher & Adam Howry played bass.
  • CD edition is SOLD OUT

Psychic Emperor sees the unique pairing of Darrin Wiener (a.k.a. Plastiq Phantom) and singer Tristan McKay of the group Vells. The combination of Wiener's deft electronic sensibilities & savvy production and McKay's classic melodies and pop song structures has become an exciting new hybrid. Dance-oriented electronic rhythms of a soft and sexy nature intertwine with galactic organic sounds with solid drum breaks from drum-master Jeremiah Green (Modest Mouse) and eerily beautiful vocal lines combined with an eclectic array of instrumentation. This is bionic pop music, with antique pianos & organs, crunchy old synths and thick deep drum machines. Psychic Emperor is bound to please anyone with an ear for sweet melodies, sophisticated songwriting and a progressive approach towards record production. Beats and intricate harmonies swirl in and out of each other, and while the lyrics may get pensive and psychedelic, the songs always come across as spirited and upbeat.

PITCHFORKMEDIA "Tristan Marcum's ether-worldly rising harmonies conspire with shiny melodies and steadily bouncing meters to craft perfectly visceral pop songs..."

"...a refined sense of melody in motion, capturing the lively patterns that surround us but are so easily overlooked."

Source Article Date Scan
PitchforkMedia Psychic Swirl Daydreams 2005-04-05  
xlr8r title drops 2005-03-01  
Amazon Album Daydrips 2005-01-05